Create Yourself

“Life isn’t about finding yourself. Life is about creating yourself.” – Unknown

As I was polishing the wood furniture this morning, it dawned on me that I needed to blog about all the wonderful ideas I have in my 32 year old head. Since the planning of my wedding this year, I have had time to figure things out. Working odd jobs, taking a Creative Writing class, reading lots of  books, and designing most of my wedding reception has led me to a few conclusions.

At first, I thought I wanted to be a children’s book writer, but over time I realized to start slow and not overwhelm myself. So with that in mind, I’d like to create a zine that I could sell through my Etsy shop, Rare Bird Boutique. Speaking of my shop, I want to redo it! New logo, banner, biz cards and what I would sell in the shop. With all this wedding DIY hub bub, I might just break into it myself. Back to the zine, if you do not know what that is, here is the def: “a magazine, esp. a fanzine. A webzine.” It is like a handmade magazine and you can do anything you want! Draw and write by hand or use your computer. I could make a grown-up version and a kid’s version. Be on the lookout this Fall/Winter for the possible future zine created by yours truly.

Another new found joy in my life is yoga. Okay so I just went for the first time yesterday, but I really loved it! After turning my fiance and friends down many times because I thought yoga was boring or that I was going to be the guy that “tooted” in class, I never gave it a chance. But I decided a gal like me, puny and out of shape, should give it a shot. Luckily, there was a class in downtown Georgetown at Runtex during Saturday morning for $10. I walked in and the instructor Beth let me be her guest and I joined the class for free. I met several nice ladies around me and waited for the journey to begin. My butt was literally handed to me  though – what a workout! We did some hardcore yoga, danced to the “Eat Pray Love” soundtrack, and meditated. It was definitely needed. I was so excited afterwards, I bought my own hot pink yoga mat and begged my fiance to join me for the Monday night class. For more info, go to the Runtex Georgetown Facebook Page.

After my yoga class, I walked around downtown Georgetown as I waited for my engagement ring to be polished at Quenan’s. I visited several of my favorite antique stores and took in the scenery. That was when I thought how lovely it would be to live near the square so we could walk everywhere and indulge in the charm of the lil’ town. We could take the dogs for a walk or ride our bikes in the historic neighborhoods, grab a bite to eat at one of the many restaurants, visit the library, and shop at the antique stores. But those houses are hard to come by in our price range, so I will have to dream a little dream…

Downtown Georgetown

A beautiful GT house For Sale 

Oh well, I have a cute abode out in the country and I have lots in mind to change things up a bit. Since I want to get back to my Etsy shop, sell antiques, write a zine, and blog, I need a creative space of my own. I tried this year, during my writing stint, by incorporating a desk into the living room. It is kind of in the way and there’s not really any privacy for “thinking time”.

My small creative space

We have a guest bedroom with Jon’s old bedroom furniture, but I want shelves, my desk, and an old bed. Everything is too “matchy-matchy”. Currently, this is what it looks like right now:

The bed takes up the whole room, not to mention we have a giant dog kennel in there too. But if we sell the furniture, I can get my guest bedroom/office in order! Here are a few ideas that I stole from various websites like Apartment Therapy (see my “Link Club”):

Older & Smaller Bed

Wall O’ Shelves

Oh… I can just imagine it and boy I have! With that in mind… I have several ideas for around the house too. Can you tell that after this wedding, I am back in business with redecorating and design?

A “stair-stepping” garden for the backyard

Using vintage wooden pant hangers for artwork

Industrial metal stools for the bar counter

There is so much to do and I better figure out a better source of income to feed this insatiable, creative appetite! We want a fence, a deck in the front and backyard, tile our bath and kitchen floors, and redo the scary kitchen counter tops too. It is a work in progress, just like me.

Speaking of, I definitely want to be the O.G. that I am, but have never dove in quite like this before. I mean I border on weird, but I take pride in my uniqueness and want to shed  a little more light. Why not a nose piercing, different clothes, a tattoo or how about bolder eyeglasses such as these?:

These RayBans are reserved for me and no one else!

Whatever it may be, I know this year will be different. I thought I was finding myself, but I have been here always. I just need to continue creating myself, even if it means at the age of 32. Getting married, starting over, and making new discoveries has been quite a ride in 2010 and I can’t wait for it all to continue. It has been scary, but fun. Stay tuned for so much more!

4 thoughts on “Create Yourself

  1. I love this post Mel! I am exactly where you are – I think that is what is so gorgeous about our 30’s 🙂 I wish you all kinds of creativity, boldness, and opportunity to make yourself into who you want to be. And you know I’m all for a nose piercing! XOXO

  2. Nice photos of the house, and very clean. I love all the little cutesy cottage and homes around GT, and can’t wait to check out the antique sale this weekend (sorry you will be gone). Let’s try and built the step-up garden one weekend; I’ve got the saw!

  3. Love the redecorating ideas! The 30’s are great – what a great time for transition, rediscovering yourself, trying new things, etc. Can’t wait to see your wedding photos!

  4. Melanie your writing is very interesting and inspiring.
    I would think some magazine would LOVE to have you write for them.

Leave a Reply

