Super Excited About My Holga

I wanted to share my excitement that I am getting a Holga camera soon! I have wanted one (again) for so long and thanks to Urban Outfitters, I made the purchase this past weekend. If you are unfamiliar with the Holga camera – it is a plastic, toy camera that leaks light in to where you get the most amazing effects in your photos.

Holga Camera & Accessories

Holga Camera & Accessories

I had a Holga in college, which cost me around $20 bucks, circa 8 years ago.  Later on as a poor student, I ended up selling my camera on eBay because 1) I changed my major & didn’t need camera equipment anymore and 2) I needed the extra moolah. Now that I have been searching again, I noticed that they are super popular and pricey.  The one I paid for was actually on sale for $49.99 with accessories.  You can also check out fredflare.com for the LOMO Holga Starter Kit, but it runs for $75.  If you still don’t get what all the hoopla is about, let me just show you how fun these cameras are. Take a look at these photos:

holga-triple

holga_07_500px

powerholgablog

I am sure you are wondering why the pictures are square?  Let me give you the spec’s on the Holga so you an get a better understanding of how awesome this camera is!  Information gathered from www.lomography.com:

THE PLASTIC PRINCE

The Holga owes its incredible images to a few factors: a fresh and simple semi-wide plastic lens, professional-grade medium format film, a long exposure option, the ability to shoot multiple times on the same frame and advance partial frames, a somewhat-not-light-tight body, and exactly 12.4 pounds of bonafide magical pixie dust.

Overview

  • Size: 22cm (8.65in) x 17,5cm (7in) x 9,5cm (3.75in)
  • Weight: 730g (1.6lb)
  • Format: all 120 medium format film (color negative, slide, b&w)
  • Lens: Plastic 60mm, f/8
  • Focus: manual zone focus with four distance settings
  • Approximate 35mm format equivalent focal length: 38mm
  • Aperture settings: f/8, f/11
  • Shutter speeds: 1/125, “B”
  • Flash: Color gel system (yellow, red, blue, clear), powered by 2 “AA” batteries
  • Uncoupled advance & shutter release for multiple & partial exposures
  • Standard tripod thread
  • Professional lab development only

Interested yet?  Well, do some research and think about it!  I will be playing with my toy camera soon and hopefully I can display them on here for you to see…

*All images were found on the Internet. These are not mine.

5 thoughts on “Super Excited About My Holga

  1. I guess the Holga didn’t turn out so well after all since they never got around to posting those pics. After all that excitement! It always happens that way on the internet. A moment of inspiration and no followup. At least they got in the popular “LOL” term.

  2. Thanks Bill for bringing that up… I have yet to process the film because I am actually getting ready for a wedding and still working on the house. Soon, it is on my to-do list!

Leave a Reply

