Decorating the House Update #1

Last weekend, we bought our dining room table & chairs. I ended up buying some SARALISA fabric from IKEA on Monday; just realized that it is brand new! Not what I had decided to get before hand, but Jon and I love it! So during the rest of the week, we reupholstered the seat cushions & Scotch Gard’ed them too.

Dining Area/Nook

Dining Area/Nook

Fabric Detail

Fabric Detail

Then yesterday, I sold some of my living room furniture to a co-worker. That left us without a side table, coffee table, & book shelf.  Jon really wanted us to get a coffee table pronto, so we drove around all day searching for the perfect table that we would both agree on. We drove to places like World Market, Pier 1, etc., but then we went to some funky vintage stores around South Austin and found nothing…

We even took a break and had a beer at a place called Black Dog Pub. There was nothing pub-like about this place. There was R&B music on the jukebox, sports paraphernalia on the walls, flat screen tv’s with basketball on, gangsta-esque waitresses… Since we felt a little out of place, we took off – I didn’t even finish my beer. Once in the car, we renamed it Snoop Dog Pub. Overall, it was nice to take a break and have a laugh before we got started again.

After all of that, we decided to go to IKEA. Why didn’t we try there?  It is right by our house! We thought surely they have to have something that won’t fall apart!  And they did, to our surprise.  (Which we decided that IKEA has really cheap stuff and on the other hand, they have really nice stuff – for everyone’s price range). We found a gorgeous solid, black, square coffee table: the IKEA STOCKHOLM and it is brand spankin’ new too.

Our Living Room Now

Our Living Room Now

Today, I am venturing out to buy some rugs from World Market for the living room thanks to my brother and the gift card he got us for Christmas, maybe some new throw pillows too!  Jon is finishing up the floors, so I need to get out of the house.

As for a new book shelf, we are not really too concerned about it right now.  We need a new media center/console.  The one we have is from Best Buy, circa 2001, and it is made of particle board. I think I just threw up in my mouth, did you? ha! Also, in regards to the side table, I might not lean so much towards the west elm table I was drooling over in a previous blog.  I might actually want this one from Target:

Modern Side Table - Black

Modern Side Table - Black

My birthday is around the corner and I have already mentioned to Jon that if he wants to get me anything, it could be a side table.  Hehe.

One thought on “Decorating the House Update #1

Leave a Reply

